in ,

Kentucky Area Codes

Kentucky, known as the Bluegrass State, is known for horse racing (especially the Kentucky Derby), bourbon and college basketball and is located in the east south-central region of the US. The capital city of the state is Frankfort. Currently, there are five Kentucky area codes. In 1947, area code 502 was introduced and it services north-central parts of the state including the cities of Louisville, Georgetown, Shelbyville, Fort Knox and Frankfort.

Several years later, area code 606 was established and covers eastern areas of the state including Ashland and Morehead. It wasn’t until 1999 that area code 859 was introduced and services the cities of Lexington and Covington. On a keypad, area code 859 spells out “UKY” – a reference to the University of Kentucky in Lexington. That same year, area code 270 was established to cover western and south-central areas of the state including Bowling Green, Elizabethtown and Owensboro. Most recently, area code 364 was introduced as an overlay in 2013. Learn more by checking out our infographic below and consider sharing it!

Kentucky area codes


Share this Image On Your Site

Public Records Search

Search anyone: