in ,

Minnesota Area Codes

Minnesota is a midwestern state known by the slogan “Land of 10,000 Lakes” due to the number of lakes within its borders. Almost 60 percent of Minnesota citizens reside in the Minneapolis-Saint Paul metropolitan area (often referred to as the Twin Cities). Elsewhere, the state is made up of western prairies, sprawling farms and deciduous forests.

There are currently seven Minnesota area codes. Area code 612 was established in 1947 and covers the entire city of Minneapolis including the cities of Fort Snelling, Richfield and St. Anthony. That same year, area code 218 was introduced and services the northern half of the state including Brainerd, Moorhead, Duluth and Hibbing. Several years later, area code 507 was established to service the southern fifth of the state including Austin, Albert Lea, Rochester and Mankato.

In 1996, area code 320 was introduced to service central cities in the state including Albany, Alexandria, Willmar and St. Cloud. Two years later, area code 651 was established to service St. Paul, Red Wing, Lake City and eastern suburbs of the Twin Cities. In 2000, area code 763 was created to service northwestern suburbs of Minneapolis-St. Paul including Plymouth, Maple Grove and Brooklyn Park. That same year, area code 952 was introduced to cover southwestern suburb cities such as Bloomington, Eden Prairie, Edina and Minnetonka. Consider sharing this with anyone you think would be interested in learning more about Minnesota area codes!

Minnesota area codes


Share this Image On Your Site

Public Records Search

Search anyone: