in ,

Missouri Area Codes

Missouri is a midwestern state with over 6 million residents. The state features a blend of Midwestern and Southern United States culture. The name comes from the Missouri River, which is the longest in North America. The most populous cities in the state are St. Louis, Kansas City, Springfield and Columbia.

There are currently 6 Missouri area codes, with two established in 1947. Area code 314 covers St. Louis and surrounding suburbs. It originally served the eastern half of the state from the Illinois border to Jefferson City. Area code 816 covers northwestern Missouri, including St. Joseph, Blue Springs, Independence and the Kansas City metropolitan area.

Area code 417 was established in 1951 and covers southwestern areas of the state including Branson, Carthage, Joplin and Springfield. This is considered one of the most sparsely populated area codes in the entire country. In 1995, area code 573 and area code 660 were introduced. The former covers most of the eastern half of the state while the latter services northern and western Missouri. Most recently, area code 636 was established and it covers east-central parts of the state including the St. Louis metropolitan area.

Check out our informative infographic below and share with everyone who would find value in learning about the area codes of Missouri.

Missouri area codes


Share this Image On Your Site

Public Records Search

Search anyone: