in ,

Mississippi Area Codes

Mississippi is a southern state that is ranked 32nd in population. Jackson, located in the center of the state, is the state capital and largest city in Mississippi. Gulfport is the second largest city, home to over 65,000 people. As with other Deep South states, Mississippi experiences over 25 tornados a year, on average. The state features many forests made up of pine, cottonwood and elm trees.

There are currently four Mississippi area codes. In 1947, area code 601 was introduced and originally covered the entire state. It wasn’t until 1997 that area code 228 was introduced to cover the southernmost parts of the state including Biloxi, Gulfport, Diamondhead and Ocean Springs. The former area code now services the cities of Jackson, Hattiesburg, Laurel and Newton. In 1999, area code 662 was established to service the northern areas of the state including the cities of Aberdeen, Clarksdale, Columbus and Tupelo. Most recently, area code 769 was introduced as an overlay, requiring residents to dial ten-digit numbers in the central parts of the state.

We have created a beautiful infographic highlighting the different area codes in Mississippi. Consider sharing it with anyone who you think would be interested in learning more!

Mississippi area codes


Share this Image On Your Site