in ,

New Jersey Area Codes

New Jersey is a Northeastern state home to approximately 9 million people. It is the most densely populated state in the country and borders New York on the north and the east boundaries. The state was known for prominent factories in the 19th century, playing a big role in the Industrial Revolution.

There are currently 9 New Jersey area codes with area code 201 serving as the oldest one, established in 1947. It covers the cities of Hoboken, Hackensack, Jersey City and Englewood, although it originally served the entire state. Eleven years later, area code 609 was introduced to cover the cities of Princeton, Trenton and parts of the Jersey Shore including Atlantic City and Long Beach Island. It is currently the largest in the state.

In 1991, area code 908 was established and it services north/central areas of the state including Elizabeth and Union counties. In 1997 and 1999, the state introduced area code 856, area code 973 and area code 732 to cover Camden, Cherry Hill, Glassboro, Essex County, Passaic County, Toms River, and Edison in addition to Ocean counties on the Jersey Shore. In 2001, area code 551 was introduced as an overlay in north eastern parts of the state. That same year, area code 848 was established as an overlay in the Toms River/Edison areas. Also in 2001, area code 862 was established as an overlay for Essex and Passaic counties. Thanks to major population growth and use of communications technologies, New Jersey’s area codes have increased from one to nine.

Share this Image On Your Site