in ,

New Mexico Area Codes

New Mexico is a southwestern state that was admitted to the Union in 1912. The state was named by conquistadors long before the country of Mexico won independence from Spain and bears no relation to the country. The Navajo, Pueblo and Apache peoples make up the major Native American nations in New Mexico.

There are currently two New Mexico area codes. In 1947, area code 505 was founded and covers northwestern and central areas in the state including Santa Fe, Rio Rancho and the Albuquerque metropolitan area. It covers the more urban areas of the state. It wasn’t until 2007 that area code 575 was introduced to cover all areas outside of the aforementioned area code. It encompasses the more rural parts of the state including Las Cruces, Roswell, Alamogordo and Carlsbad. Check out our informative infographic below and consider sharing with your friends and anyone who would be interested to learn more!

Share this Image On Your Site